'What a start': Test debutant's incredible takedown of Virat Kohli

Sam Goodwin
Sports Editor

Kyle Jamieson has sent the cricket world into meltdown by snaring the prized scalp of Virat Kohli on Test debut.

The 25-year-old paceman was handed his first Test cap on Friday for New Zealand’s clash with India in Wellington.

NO THANKS: Warner rejects de Kock meeting after 'disgusting' sledge

And he immediately set about repaying the faith, dismissing Cheteshwar Pujara and Kohli in the opening session.

Kyle Jamieson got Virat Kohli on Test debut. Image: Sky Sport NZ/Getty

Jamieson had Pujara caught behind for 11 before sending the cricket world wild by getting Kohli caught at slip for just 2.

Ross Taylor took the catch at first slip in his 100th Test.

Fans and commentators were in awe of Jamieson’s opening spell.

Kiwis cash in after bowling first

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl on a green wicket and with breezy, overcast conditions.

“It's a bit soft on top but it has that green tinge so hopefully we make an impact with the ball,” captain Kane Williamson said at the toss.

Kohli said he would also have bowled had the toss gone his way.

“It's a no-brainer on day one. It's going to be overcast all day. That said, the pitch looks better than it was two days ago with a lot of the grass taken off,” Kohli said.

Kyle Jamieson celebrates the wicket of Virat Kohli. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Immediately after the toss the covers were briefly put on the wicket as a light shower passed over the Basin Reserve ground.

Both sides took one spinner into the match with Ajaz Patel starting for New Zealand and Ravichandran Ashwin preferred over Ravindra Jadeja in the India line up.

Although India are ranked the No.1 Test nation in the world, they regularly struggle in New Zealand conditions where they have won just one of 16 Tests in the past 30 years.

They have only won once in Wellington and that was 52 years ago and their last appearance at the Basin Reserve, in 2014, ended in a draw.

New Zealand:

Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult


Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

with AFP