West Africans face visa ban over Ebola

Australia has closed the door to people seeking humanitarian entry from Ebola-affected west African countries.

Immigration Minister Scott Morrison said the temporary suspension meant his department was no longer processing any applications from countries including Sierra Leone, Liberia and Guinea.

The department is also cancelling and refusing non-permanent or temporary visas held by people from Ebola-affected countries who have yet to leave for Australia.

Permanent visa holders from these countries are being required to submit to a 21-day quarantine period prior to departure for Australia.

In August, the Australian Customs and Border Protection Service introduced a new screening system.

However, none of the screened people had been referred to a hospital on their arrival.

"The government's systems and processes are working to protect Australians," Mr Morrison said.