Change to Australian time zones as daylight savings ends

While your phone and other smart devices will take care of themselves, you'll want to wind your clocks back on Sunday morning.

Love it or hate it, the sun is about to set on another year of daylight savings in Australia.

Some 18 million Aussies – about two thirds of the country – will get an extra hour of sleep tonight as daylight savings comes to an end for residents in NSW, the ACT, South Australia, Victoria and Tasmania in the morning.

Queenslanders, who along with the NT and Western Australia don't participate in daylight savings, will now be reunited on the same timeline with their southern neighbours. Across the country, the mainland's five different timezones – a realisation which recently infuriated one American – will revert back to just three.

But did you know, if you account for all of Australia's territories with dependencies such as Norfolk and Christmas Islands, Australia has even more time zones during daylight saving time. Compare that to China which gets by on just one time zone for the whole country.

A woman runs on Manly beach in the early morning as daylight savings comes to an end.
Aussies in many states will get an extra hour of sleep on Saturday night as they give up the evening sun. Source: Getty

When do I change my clocks?

The light saving measure will finish on Sunday, April 7, at 3am local time. While your phone and other smart devices will take care of themselves, you'll want to wind your clocks back when you get up on Sunday.

Daylight savings won’t return until 2am on Sunday, October 6.

What will the new time differences be between states and territories?

From next week, time zones won’t be all over the place as two of the five time zones get cut as winter looms.

NSW, Victoria, the ACT, Tasmania and Queensland will all be on Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST). The Northern Territory and South Australia will all be half an hour behind on Australian Central Standard Time (ACST).

The outback NSW town of Broken Hill also observes ACST time because of it's remoteness.

Meanwhile Western Australia will be a full two hours behind the AEST states and territories on Australian Western Standard Time (AWST).

Where did daylight savings first come from?

The concept was first proposed in 1895 by New Zealand entomologist George Hudson whose work with insects led him to doing field work in after-hours daylight. He saw the value in creating more daylight hours in our daily routines when the sun was out for longer.

In 1908 Ontario, Canada, became the first region to start using daylight saving time. Although, the practice didn't really take off until 1916, two years into the First World War. The rationale was to minimise the use of artificial lighting to save fuel for the war effort.

Roughly a third of the world participates in a form of clock changing, though it varies by region — this includes most US states and Canada. In the US, states can choose whether they participate in daylight savings and as a result daylight saving time is observed across the country except in Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and most of Arizona.

with NCA Newswire

Do you have a story tip? Email:

You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter and YouTube.