Spirit clue to Force plans

Nick Taylor

The Perth Spirit squad for the inaugural third-tier National Rugby Championship gives some insight into how Western Force are shaping for next season.

Half of the 40-man extended squad is made up of Force players, with the remainder from the local club competition.

Force centre Chris Tuatara-Morrison is not included and is unlikely to return next year. The inclusion of rising young star back Dillyn Leyds should end speculation in South Africa that the full-back/fly-half is returning to Western Province.

Scrum-half Ryan Louwrens has not recovered from a ruptured left anterior cruciate ligament, opening the door for Justin Turner to reclaim a Force role after four injury-hit seasons.

Flanker Chris Alcock will play for a Sydney side, but is expected to re-sign for 2015, while outside back Patrick Dellit, who will also play in NSW, has another season on his Force contract.

Flanker Gus Cottrell (broken leg) is not included.

Fly-half Sias Ebersohn and second-rower Adam Coleman have both had surgery.

Spirit open their campaign against Canberra Vikings in Canberra on Saturday, August 23.