Schools closed for catastrophic fire danger

Schools on South Australia’s Yorke and Eyre Peninsulas will be closed tomorrow because of the ‘catastrophic’ fire danger as temperatures edge towards 40 degrees.

The Country Fire Service (CFS) has declared the catastrophic fire danger in the Yorke Peninsula, Eastern and Lower Eyre Peninsula regions, while the Mt Lofty Ranges and Kanagaroo Island will be extreme.

The mid north, west coast and north west pastoral districts also have extreme fire danger.

A total fire ban has been declared for all districts in the state apart from the Adelaide metropolitan area.

The Department for Education and Child Development (DECD) says the school closures in the catastrophic zones are part of the ‘Prepare, Act, Survive’ campaign aimed at reducing the risk from bushfires.

All other services located on schools in the three zones such childcare, out of school hours care and playgroups will close, while bus and taxi services running through those districts will also be cancelled.

Parents have already been advised that closures are a possibility, and families of children who attend affected schools are being contacted and advised.

The DECD parent bushfire information hotline number is 1800 000 279 and will be available from 8am to 6pm.

The full list of affected schools can be found here.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting