Kerry Washington and Former U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger Named Co-Chairs of New Poll Worker Recruitment Advisory Council (EXCLUSIVE)

Kerry Washington and former Republican U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger will co-chair the advisory council of Power the Polls, a non-partisan poll worker recruitment group.

“Poll workers are frontline heroes of democracy. Their work helps to ensure that all Americans are able to cast our votes safely and securely,” Washington said in a statement. “By recruiting poll workers who are excited to serve their communities, Power the Polls has proven its ability to preserve trust in our electoral system, especially when democracy is under threat. It is an honor to serve as co-chair of the effort to support their commitment to democracy and recruit the next generation of poll workers.”

More from Variety

The 14-member council features a roster of cultural, political, veteran and advocacy leaders.

“At a time when our democracy is facing unique and historic threats, the role poll workers play in keeping our elections free and fair has never been more important,” Kinzinger said. “That’s why Power the Polls’ work is so important and why I’m proud to serve as the advisory council’s co-chair. I encourage all Americans to sign up to be poll workers through Power the Polls as a great way to serve our communities.”

In 2020, Power the Polls recruited more than 700,000 potential poll workers in less than 100 days before formally relaunching two years later, when it was able to engage more than 275,000 potential poll workers speaking more than 25 different languages.

“By recruiting potential poll workers, supporting election administrators, and housing a centralized hub for localized poll worker information, Power the Polls is filling in the gap between informed citizens who want to engage in civic life and the election officials who need their help,” Power the Polls National Program Manager Marta Hanson said. “I am tremendously excited to be able to partner with these important voices from across the political spectrum to recruit poll workers and ensure a safe, secure, and accessible election this fall.”

In addition to Washington and Kinzinger, council members also include Nevada secretary of state Francisco Aguilar, Georgia secretary of state Brad Raffensperger, With Honor co-founder Rye Barcott, IllumiNative founder and CEO Crystal Echo Hawk, actress and producer Annie Gonzalez, Drum Major Institute president Arndrea Waters King, Voters for Tomorrow founder and executive director Santiago Mayer, Florida Rights Restoration Coalition president and executive director Desmond Meade, Civic Responsibility Project founder Ashley Spillane, chief operating officer in Georgia’s Secretary of State office Gabriel Sterling, former editor-in-chief of The Bulwark Charlie Sykes and author and Diversability founder Tiffany Yu.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.