Advertisement
SIGN UP for our newsletter ✉️ :

Get the latest stories delivered straight to you

Fury vs Ngannou time: When does fight start in UK and US tonight?

This weekend, Tyson Fury and Francis Ngannou will meet in one of the biggest but most controversial fights of the year.

Fury has not fought since December, when he retained his WBC heavyweight title, and there is still no date for his planned clash with unified champion Oleksandr Usyk – although it is finally signed.

Follow live: Fury vs Ngannou live fight updates and results tonight

Fury vs Ngannou betting tips: Predictions and best odds

In the meantime, the Briton will face Ngannou, a former UFC champion who is making his boxing debut here.

Ngannou left the UFC in January, relinquishing the promotion’s heavyweight title in the process, and he will make his debut with the Professional Fighters League in 2024.

First, though, the Cameroonian crosses into boxing for the biggest payday of his career.

Here’s all you need to know. We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This revenue helps to fund journalism across The Independent.

When is the fight?

The fight will take place on Saturday 28 October in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

The main card is expected to start at 6pm BST (10am PT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET). Ring walks for the main event are then expected at around 10.45pm BST (2.45pm PT, 4.45pm CT, 5.45pm ET).

How can I watch it?

In the UK, the event will air live on TNT Sports Box Office at a cost of £21.95 for viewers in the UK. In Ireland, the event will cost €29.99 if purchased in advance or €34.99 on the day of the fights. Viewers do not need to have a TNT subscription in order to purchase the event. In the US, the event will stream live on ESPN+ pay-per-view.

Watch Fury vs Ngannou live on Dazn globally, by clicking here – excluding USA, UK/Ireland, and Canada.

If you’re travelling abroad and want to watch the event, you might need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN round-up is here to help and includes deals on VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN need to make sure that they comply with any local regulations where they are and also with the terms of their service provider.

Odds

Tyson Fury, left, and Francis Ngannou face off in London (James Manning/PA) (PA Wire)
Tyson Fury, left, and Francis Ngannou face off in London (James Manning/PA) (PA Wire)

Fury – 1/14

Ngannou – 15/2

Draw – 28/1

Via Betway.

Get all the latest boxing betting sites’ offers

What are the rules?

This will be a heavyweight boxing match, with no MMA rules involved. The fight is scheduled for 10 three-minute rounds, with a victor being decided on points or via knockout/TKO. The result is expected to count towards Fury’s professional boxing record – which is 33-0-1, and Ngannou’s, which is 0-0 – but the Briton’s WBC title will not be on the line.

What is the prize money?

Fury has said, via the Mirror, that Ngannou will be earning $10m for the fight. Meanwhile, Derek Chisora has claimed, via The Sun, that Fury will be making $50m. That is not believed to factor in sponsorships.

Full card (subject to change)

Tyson Fury vs Francis Ngannou (heavyweight)

Fabio Wardley vs David Adeleye (heavyweight)

Joseph Parker vs Simon Kean (heavyweight)

Martin Bakole vs Carlos Takam (heavyweight)

Arslanbek Makhmudov vs Junior Anthony Wright (heavyweight)

Moses Itauma vs Istvan Bernath (heavyweight)

Jack McGann vs Alcibiade Duran (super-welterweight)