Campbell keen to make Joondalup history


Explosive former WA wicket-keeper Ryan Campbell could join Tony Mann in winning premierships with three separate WACA clubs if he plays for Joondalup in the local decider against Scarborough this weekend at the WACA Ground.

Campbell is currently based in Melbourne as Channel 10's main presenter for the network's coverage of the Indian Premier League and is attempting to get back for the game.

Campbell played in premierships for Bayswater-Morley and Scarborough and could mirror Mann who won flags for Midland-Guildford, University and Mt Lawley.

But Scarborough are odds-on favourites as they attempt to become the first club to win four consecutive premierships since North Perth managed the feat during World War I.

Warriors batsman Theo Doropoulos added 5-23 to his top score of 63 when Scarborough accounted for Claremont-Nedlands in the first semifinal.

James Boyland, the WACA's leading wicket-taker this season, also claimed five wickets as Joondalup beat Willetton by 36 runs to enter their first grade grand final since changing their name and shifting from North Perth in 2000-01.

Meanwhile, Paul Davis and Matt Johnston have shared the Olly Cooley Medal as the WACA's best club cricketers.

Mt Lawley's Davis claimed 20 wickets in the final two matches to earn top votes and equal Willetton all-rounder Johnston on 18 votes.

Johnston did not poll in the final match but finished with 630 runs and 35 wickets while Davis scored 364 runs and took 51 wickets.