Anthony Albanese unveils cabinet in first big move as Prime Minister

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese has unveiled his new cabinet following his first address to the Labor caucus.

Mr Albanese had previously indicated MPs who held a shadow ministry in opposition would likely have a similar portfolio in government. Though, some changes were to be expected.

Labor claimed 77 seats in the federal election, ousting the coalition and clinching a majority. Incumbent Labor MP Fiona Phillips claimed the 77th seat on Tuesday.

The 47th federal parliament will open on July 26.

Anthony Albanese has unveiled his new cabinet. Source: AAP
Anthony Albanese has unveiled his new cabinet. Source: AAP

Interim ministers were sworn in promptly after the May 21 election and Mr Albanese confirmed the front bench on Tuesday night.

Foreign Minister Penny Wong, Treasurer Jim Chalmers, Deputy Prime Minister Richard Marles and Finance Minister Katy Gallagher will retain those roles.

Mr Marles will also take on the role of defence minister.

Historic cabinet stacked with women

Mr Albanese said his cabinet has more women than any other in history but is working towards an equal representation.

"This is the largest number of women who have ever served in an Australian cabinet with 10 women in the cabinet," he said.

"In addition to that, in terms of the ministry, there are 13 women in the ministry and 19 frontbenchers, a record number in all three categories for women's representation in cabinet, in ministry and in front bench positions."

Pictured is Anthony Albanese at a Labor Party Caucus at Parliament House in Canberra, Tuesday, May 31, 2022.
Prime Minister Anthony Albanese has stacked the cabinet, ministry and front bench with women. Source: AAP

In addition to Ms Wong and Ms Gallagher's roles, Tanya Plibersek has been appointed the Minister for Environment and Water, while Clare O’Neil will be the Home Affairs Minister and Minister for Cyber Security.

Amanda Rushworth will be the Minister for Social Services, Linda Burney will be the Minister for Indigenous Australians, Julie Collins will be Minister for Housing, Minister for Homelessness and Minister for Small Business.

The new Minister for Communications will be Michelle Rowland and Madeleine King will be both the Minister for Resources and Minister for Northern Australia. Catherine King is the new Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government.

A Government 'determined" to not waste time

Mr Albanese said his government is committed to not wasting any time and added the incoming government was the "most experienced" in Labor history.

After the ministers are sworn in tomorrow, there will be a full ministry meeting tomorrow afternoon.

Here is Anthony Albanese's Cabinet:

  • Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence: Richard Marles

  • Senate Leader and Foreign Minister: Penny Wong

  • Treasurer: Jim Chalmers

  • Minister for Finance, Minister for Public Service and Minister for Women: Katy Gallagher

  • Minister for Environment and Water: Tanya Plibersek

  • Minister for Home Affairs and Minister for Cyber Security: Clare O'Neil

  • Deputy Senate Leader, Minister for Tourism and Travel and Special Minister of State: Don Farrell

  • Leader of the House, Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations and Minister for Arts: Tony Burke

  • Deputy Leader of the House and Minister of Health and Aged Care: Mark Butler

  • Minister for Climate Change and Minister for Energy: Chris Bowen

  • Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government: Catherine King

  • Minister for Indigenous Australians: Linda Burney

  • Minister for Social Services: Amanda Rishworth

  • Minister for the NDIS and Minister for Government Services: Bill Shorten

  • Attorney General and Cabinet Secretary: Mark Dreyfus

  • Minister for Skills and Training: Brendan O'Connor

  • Minister for Education: Jason Clare

  • Minister for Housing, Minister for Homelessness and Minister for Small Business: Julie Collins

  • Minister for Communications: Michelle Rowland

  • Minister for Resources and Minister for Northern Australia: Madeleine King

  • Minister for Agriculture, Minister for Fisheries and Forestry and Minister for Emergency Management: Murray Watt

  • Minister for Industry and Science: Ed Husic

Several new faces will make up the outer ministry, including Western Australian MP Anne Aly, who will become early childhood and youth minister, while Eden-Monaro MP Kristy McBain will take on the portfolio of regional development and local government.

Matt Keogh takes on veterans affairs, while Pat Conroy will be in charge of defence industries.

Stephen Jones will be assistant treasurer, while Andrew Giles is the immigration minister on the new frontbench.

Annika Wells has assumed the role of aged care minister and sport.

Mr Albanese said Senator Patrick Dotson will serve as the Special Envoy for Reconciliation and will oversee The Uluru Statement from the Heart.

As of now, it appears Labor will govern with 77 seats, the coalition will have 58 and the Greens four, with the remaining 12 shared between various independents.

With AAP

Do you have a story tip? Email:

You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok and Twitter and download the Yahoo News app from the App Store or Google Play.