$60 million to be split between Federal election parties

The first payments for 2016 Federal election votes have been authorised for political parties and candidates.

More than $60 million will be divided up between 24 parties and 24 independent candidates who obtained at least 4 per cent of the formal first preference vote.

Each vote is worth $2.68 to the candidate/independent.

The first round of payments is based on the progressive vote count with 99 per cent of funding entitlements calculated as of Friday last week.

A second and final round of payments of all outstanding funding entitlements will be made once vote counting is finalised.

Pauline Hanson's One Nation was the best performing small party, coming in after the Greens and Nationals.

The Liberal Party, led by Malcolm Turnbull who claimed the election, will be allocated more than $23.4 million, while the Labor Party will get $22.35 million.

Pauline Hanson's One Nation party was one of the best performers, after the Nationals and Greens, claiming $1.6 million.

Fellow small party Nick Xenophon Team, led by maverick senator Nick Xenophon qualified for almost $1.18 million.

Independent Andrew Wilkie. Source: AAP

For individuals, Indi's Catherine McGowan will claim $81,241.57 while Andrew Wilkie will see more than $76,000.


Political Party Amount ($)

Liberal Party of Australia, $23,464,128.62

Australian Labor Party, $22,355,109.55

Australian Greens, $6,337,258.36

National Party of Australia, $3,158,301.63

Pauline Hanson’s One Nation Party, $1,623,827.11

Nick Xenophon Team, $1,179,992.89

Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party, $544,420.99

Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group), $283,838.18

Family First, $218,993.20

Country Liberals (Northern Territory), $180,977.63

Katter’s Australian Party, $157,743.09

Rise Up Australia Party, $75,490.79

Jacqui Lambie Network, $68,951.79

Liberal Democratic Party, $48,494.75

Animal Justice Party, $34,114.28

Australian Recreational Fishers Party, $29,277.97

Glenn Lazarus Team, $21,220.94

Australian Christians, $20,422.25

Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party, $17,456.17

Bullet Train for Australia, $15,509.23

Australian Liberty Alliance, $15,277.98

Australian Country Party, $9,155.11

Help End Marijuana Prohibition (HEMP) Party, $6,311.79

Australian Sex Party, $6,311.79


Catherine McGowan (Indi, Victoria), $81,241.57

Andrew Wilkie (Denison, Tasmania), $76,413.07

Antony Windsor (New England, New South Wales), $72,333.82

Robert Oakeshott (Cowper, New South Wales), $70,762.48

Stephen Ruff (North Sydney, New South Wales), $30,745.25

Dennis Jensen (Tangney, Western Australia), $25,836.11

James Mathison (Warringah, New South Wales), $25,721.64

Bradley Christensen (Lyne, New South Wales), $24,004.61

Jim Ball (McKellar, New South Wales), $17,645.66

Daniel McCarthy (Leichardt, Queensland), $15,821.94

Kevin Foley (Riverina, New South Wales), $15,722.08

Stephen Mayne (Menzies, Victoria), $15,214.91

David Wilks (Forde, Queensland), $13,575.14

John Harvey (Hunter, New South Wales), $12,261.22

David Tran (Gellibrand, Victoria), $11,922.23

Julie Hegarty (Mackellar, New South Wales), $11,706.74

Kenneth Murray (Capricornia, Queensland), $11,131.25

Christine Berman (Bradfield, New South Wales), $10,939.41

Stephen Large (Dawson, Queensland), $10,794.88

Arthur Mills (Farrer, New South Wales), $10,684.51

Michael McCluskey (Wannon, Victoria), $10,437.50

Robert Jones (McPherson, Queensland), $9,917.18

Yingiya Mark Guyula (Lingiari, Northern Territory), $4,672.02

Braedon Earley (Lingiari, Northern Territory), $4,551.13

Total: $60,466,642.44