These are the 14 lawmakers who voted against condemning Iran’s attack on Israel

These are the 14 lawmakers who voted against condemning Iran’s attack on Israel

An overwhelming majority of the House voted Thursday on a resolution to condemn Iran’s recent attack on Israel.

However, 14 members voted against the resolution: 13 Democrats and one Republican. The group of Democrats includes “squad” members Reps. Jamaal Bowman (N.Y.) and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (N.Y.), while Rep. Thomas Massie (Ky.) was the lone Republican to vote against the resolution.

Last weekend, Iran launched more than 300 missiles and drones on Israel, but Israeli and allied forces were able to shoot down most of them.

Here’s the House members who voted against condemning Iran’s attack:

Rep. Jamaal Bowman (D-N.Y.)

In a Thursday statement, Bowman said he “unequivocally” condemns Iran’s recent attack, just as he also condemns a suspected earlier attack by Israel, which is “why” he “voted against the resolution.”

“President Biden has made it clear that he does not support escalating violence in the Middle East, which this resolution will contribute to by supporting further military action,” Bowman continued in his statement. “We must do everything in our power to end the ongoing violence, pursue a lasting ceasefire, and save civilian lives. Instead of pushing resolutions that fan the flames of war, Congress should recognize all of the lives that have been lost, both Palestinian and Israeli. We have a moral responsibility to govern in a way that centers those most impacted and nurtures humanity instead of succumbing to more warmongering and violence.”

Rep. Greg Casar (D-Texas)

Casar said in a post on the social platform X Thursday that he “voted no on a bill that ‘fully supports’ an Israeli military response to Iran’s retaliatory & escalatory attack.”

‘I unequivocally condemn Iran’s attack that risked civilian lives, but I can’t support continued escalation that could drag the US into regional war,” he continued in his post.

Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.)

In a Thursday statement, the Washington Democrat said “Iran’s attack on Israel was a dangerous escalation in what could quickly turn into a larger regional war.”

“I condemned the attack by Iran, as well as the precipitating hostilities that led to the attack, and I called for immediate de-escalation to reduce the threat of these actions widening into a larger regional conflict,” Jayapal said. “I also supported President Biden’s actions, along with allies, in thwarting the Iranian attack and defending Israel against those threats.”

“I voted no on this resolution because I am concerned that it further escalates the situation at exactly the time that we need to do the opposite,” Jayapal added. “It does not mention the precipitating strike on the Iranian embassy by Israel that led to this attack. It ‘fully supports’ further offensive action by Israel and calls for continued arms sales to Israel.”

Rep. Jonathan Jackson (D-Ill.) 

Rep. Cori Bush (D-Mo.)

Rep. Hank Johnson (D-Ga.)

Rep. Barbara Lee (D-Calif.)

Rep. Summer Lee (D-Pa.)

Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Ky.)

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.)

Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.)

Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.)

Rep. Delia Ramirez (D-Ill.)

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.)

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to The Hill.