When and where double demerits start for Christmas and New Year holidays

Josh Dutton
News Reporter

Double demerit points for traffic infringements are set to come into effect ahead of the Christmas holidays. Find out when they start and where you can expect to be hit with the biggest fines?

NSW and the ACT double demerits

If you’re in NSW, double demerits commence at 12.01am on Friday and finish at 11.59pm on New Year’s Day.

  • NSW Police said officers will be targeting speeding, seatbelt, mobile phone and motorcycle helmet offences.

  • ACT police will target the same misdemeanours but also hand an extra double demerit point for other offences.

For example, six demerit points for two passengers sharing the same seat, six for riding a motorbike without a helmet and eight for exceeding the speed limit by 10km/h or less while driving under a provisional or learner’s licence.

NSW Police will hand drivers twice the amount of demerit points as normal for speeding offences over the holidays. Source: Getty Images (file pic)

Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott urged all road users to “exercise extra caution”.

“Traditionally, we see more people on the roads, and out and about visiting family and friends during this busy season,” Mr Elliott said.

“Take the appropriate measures to ensure you do not place yourselves or others at risk through poor decision making. With double demerits and police out in force, we want everyone to make a safe arrival to their destination.”

For a full list of NSW driving offences, fines and demerits see the Roads and Maritime website.

A sign warning of speed cameras in Canberra. Source: AAP (file pic)

Western Australia double demerits through to January 5

In Western Australia, the double demerits period is longer than in NSW.

It will run from Friday until 11.59pm January 5.

WA Police, during this period, will target drink and drug driving, seatbelt offences, speeding, using phones while driving and running red lights.

Anyone who also tries to “evade detection by a speed camera” also faces 14 demerit points.

Queensland’s double demerit law

The sunshine state doesn’t have a double demerit law in place for the holidays.

Instead, if a driver for example commits a speeding offence twice in 12 months – the demerits will double for the second time it’s committed.

A mobile radar unit on the Pacific Highway at the Gold Coast. Source: AAP (file pic)

According to the Queensland Government, these misdemeanours include speeding at more than 20km/h over the limit, and seatbelt, motorbike helmet and mobile phone offences.

For example, if a driver was caught with a passenger 16 years or older not wearing a seatbelt in their car they would be handed three demerit points.

If they committed the same offence again within 12 months - they would be handed six demerit points.

This law is in place throughout the entire year. A full list of demerits and fines is available on the Queensland government website.

A speed camera on the M1 Motorway south of Brisbane. Source: AAP (file pic)

South Australia, Victoria, Tasmania and the Northern Territory

Victoria doesn’t have double demerits system, however drivers have to earn 11 points before losing their licence. In NSW, it’s 12 demerits before licence suspension.

The same limit applies for South Australia, the Northern Territory and Tasmania.

Despite living in these states and having a licence there, drivers are reminded NSW and Queensland penalties apply when driving in these states.

Do you have a story tip? Email: newsroomau@yahoonews.com.

You can also follow us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter and download the Yahoo News app from the App Store or Google Play.