Tory candidate suspended prior to election deadline

Jaymey McIvor standing in front of people with his thumbs up
Jaymey McIvor (front, centre) was chosen as the Hemel Hempstead Conservative candidate in May [Hemel Hempstead Conservatives]

A man who was due to represent the Conservative Party in a Hertfordshire constituency was suspended by the party just hours before nominations closed.

Jaymey McIvor announced on X he would no longer be the prospective candidate for Hemel Hempstead at the 4 July general election due to "personal reasons".

A spokesperson for the party told PA Media that Mr McIvor had been suspended pending the outcome of an investigation.

Andrew Williams, a county councillor and leader of the Conservatives at Dacorum Borough Council, was announced as the new Tory candidate for the area.

Sir Mike Penning and Jaymey McIvor shaking hands and standing in front of a group of people
Sir Mike Penning (front, left) said he would not stand in the July election and Jaymey McIvor was chosen as his replacement candidate [Hemel Hempstead Conservatives]

A Tory party spokesperson said: "A matter was brought to our attention.

"Jaymey McIvor has been suspended by the party pending the outcome of an investigation.

"The party's complaints process is private and confidential."

Mr McIvor's statement on social media said: "I am sad to confirm that I am no longer the candidate for the Hemel Hempstead constituency. This is for personal reasons."

On his selection, Mr McIvor said he began his "political journey aged 13, starting as a Epping Forest Youth Councillor, progressing to the Young Essex Assembly and then Youth Parliament".

The small business owner and Essex county councillor said standing for Parliament had "always been an ambition for me and a goal".

Mr McIvor was selected in May for the forthcoming general election due to former Conservative MP Sir Mike Penning planning to retire.

The BBC has approached the Hemel Hempstead Conservatives for comment.

All the candidates for the Hemel Hempstead seat are (in alphabetical order by surname):

  • Sammy Barry-Mears - Liberal Democrats

  • Sherief Hassan - Green Party

  • David Taylor - Labour

  • Noel Willcox - Reform UK

  • Andrew Williams - Conservative Party

Follow Beds, Herts and Bucks news on Facebook, Instagram and X. Got a story? Email or WhatsApp us on 0800 169 1830

You might also be interested in