Cue residents are amazed at the upsurge in interest in the Walga Art Site, 47km to the west along a gravel road. The Great Northern Highway town has a population of about 300 and is still known as Queen of the Murchison. Cue has a number of century-old buildings and structures restored and preserved to give the town real character. Gold was discovered there on January 1, 1892, by Mick Fitzgerald and his partner, Tom Cue, after whom the town was named, and there are several big mining operations nearby. The ruins of the old mining town of Big Bell are 9km off the Cue-Walga Rock road and are well worth a visit. Except after rain, the road from Cue (47km) is suitable for conventional vehicles and sturdily built caravans and camper/trailers.
There are no camping facilities or water at the rock art site but there is plenty of open space for tents. About 300m to the left is a gentle slope leading to the summit of Walga Rock. Look out for the herd of wild goats which are often seen grazing on the foliage. A climb to the top of the rock is rewarding, with views over the surrounding country and, after rain, the sight of pools. A 4km drive track circumnavigates this fascinating natural wonder and provides great views of the granite outcrop, including a number of large balancing rocks seen high up on its rust-coloured slopes.