The West

Pacemen Ben Hilfenhaus and Peter Siddle make their returns to the Australian bowling attack for the first Test against Sri Lanka starting on Friday at Bellerive Oval at Mitchell Johnson's expense.

Mitchell Starc has kept his spot as third paceman after proving his worth with match figures of 8 for 209 in the third Test loss to South Africa in Perth last week.

Johnson also performed well in Perth with six wickets in his first Test appearance in 12 months, but missed out for the Bellerive Oval encounter with Sri Lanka.

Off spinner Nathan Lyon has also been given the nod.

Australia: Michael Clarke (c), Shane Watson (vc), Ben Hilfenhaus, Phil Hughes, Michael Hussey, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Mitchell Johnson (12th man).

The West Australian

Latest News From The West

Australian deputy David Warner has backed Shaun Marsh to be his Test opening partner ahead of the series opener against South Africa in Perth next week.

Popular videos

Cricket videos

Our Picks

Follow Us

More from The West