The West

Sangakkara named Cricketer of the Year
Sri Lankan cricketer Kumar Sangakkara poses with prestigious Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and the People's Choice prize at the ICC Awards 2012 in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Pic: AP Photo

Prolific Sri Lankan batsman Kumar Sangakkara stole the show with a hat-trick of International Cricket Council (ICC) awards in Colombo on Saturday.

The 34-year-old batsman-wicketkeeper bagged the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named Cricketer of the Year. He also won the Test Cricketer of the Year and People's Choice awards.

Performances over a 12-month period that ended on August 6, 2012 were taken into account.

Sangakkara scored 1444 runs with five centuries in 14 Tests and 1457 runs in 37 one-day internationals with three hundreds during the year.

The Sri Lankan fought off stiff competition from Australian Michael Clarke and South Africans Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander to win the trophy.

"This is an amazing honour and I've seen the people who have won it before me and the nominees too... to be named alongside them is wonderful," said Sangakkara.

"I admire them greatly and even more so when I looked up at their records on the screen this evening. It's great to be amongst them, but now, to receive this honour this evening, is simply fantastic."

Virat Kohli of India was named the One-day Cricketer of the Year for scoring 1733 runs in 31 matches with eight centuries.

"I think I have tried to keep things as simple as possible and it's worked for me on the field," said Kohli.

"This year has been a learning curve along the way from the seniors in the team. It's been an all-round effort and I'm very happy to have won this award."

West Indies spinner Sunil Narine, 24, won the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award for taking 12 wickets in three Tests and 28 in 15 one-day internationals.

"This award means a lot for me and it's an encouragement to keep going and continue to improve. I dedicate this award to my father," said Narine.

Ireland's spinner George Dockrell was named Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year ahead of teammates Kevin O'Brien, Ed Joyce and Paul Stirling, and Afghanistan's Dawlat Zadran.

"It's good to be setting high standards and hopefully I will keep performing well for Ireland in the future," said Dockrell, 20.

South African Richard Levi's unbeaten 117 off 51 balls against New Zealand was judged the Best Performance in Twenty20 Internationals.

Cricketer of the year

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Other nominees

Hashim Amla (RSA)

Michael Clarke (AUS)

Vernon Philander (RSA)

Test cricketer of the year

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Other nominees

Hashim Amla (RSA)

Michael Clarke (AUS)

Vernon Philander (RSA)

One-day cricketer of the year

Virat Kohli (IND)

Other nominees

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND)

Lasith Malinga (SRI)

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Women's one-day cricketer of the year

Stafanie Taylor (WIS)

Other nominees

Lydia Greenway (ENG)

Anisa Mohammed (WIS)

Sarah Taylor (ENG)

Emerging cricketer of the year

Sunil Narine (WIS)

Other nominees

Doug Bracewell (NZL)

Dinesh Chandimal (SRI)

James Pattinson (AUS)

Associate and Affiliate cricketer of the year

George Dockrell (IRL)

Other nominees

Ed Joyce (IRL)

Kevin O'Brien (IRL)

Paul Stirling (IRL)

Dawlat Zadran (AFG)

Twenty20 international performance of the year

Richard Levi (RSA) for his 117 not out off 51 balls v New Zealand

Other nominees

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI) - 104 not out off 57 balls v Australia

Chris Gayle (WIS) - 85 not out off 52 balls v New Zealand

Ajantha Mendis (SRI) - six for 16 in four overs v Australia

Women's Twenty20 cricketer of the year

Sarah Taylor (ENG)

Other nominees

Alyssa Healy (AUS)

Lisa Sthalekar (AUS)

Stafanie Taylor (WIS)

Umpire of the year

Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Other nominees

Billy Bowden (NZL)

Aleem Dar (PAK)

Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Simon Taufel (AUS)

Rodney Tucker (AUS)

Spirit of cricket award

Daniel Vettori (NZL)

Other nominees

Mohammad Hafeez (PAK)

Jacques Kallis (RSA)

AB de Villiers (RSA)

People's choice award

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Other nominees

James Anderson (ENG)

Jacques Kallis (RSA)

Vernon Philander (RSA)

Sachin Tendulkar (IND)

ICC Test team of the year:

Alastair Cook (ENG), Hashim Amla (RSA), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Michael Clarke (AUS - capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS), Matt Prior (ENG - wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (ENG), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Vernon Philander (RSA), Dale Steyn (RSA). 12th man: AB de Villiers (RSA)

ICC ODI team of the year:

Gautam Gambhir (IND), Alastair Cook (ENG), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Virat Kohli (IND), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND - wicketkeeper/captain), Michael Clarke (AUS), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Morne Morkel (RSA), Steven Finn (ENG), Lasith Malinga (SRI), Saeed Ajmal (PAK). 12th man: Shane Watson (AUS)

The West Australian

Latest News From The West

Taxpayers should not have to foot the bill for public servants to watch their colleagues on the corporate speaking circuit because everything they need to know to do their job is available free …

Popular videos

Cricket videos

Our Picks

Follow Us

More from The West