The West

Eagles, Freo contribute six to All-Aust squad
Darren Glass. Picture: Bill Hatto

West Coast and Fremantle have contributed six players to the initial All-Australian squad including the club’s respective captains Darren Glass and Matthew Pavlich.

Glass heads up a strong contingent of Eagles players to be named, with dangerous ruck combination Nic Naitanui and Dean Cox both earning selection, along with hardman Beau Waters.

Pavlich was joined by Dockers star defender Luke McPharlin.

Adelaide Crows and Geelong Cats had the strongest representation with five players each being selected, making up a quarter of the 40-man strong team.

Geelong’s Harry Taylor, Tom Lonergan, Corey Enright, Joel Selwood and Tom Hawkins were named along with Patrick Dangerfield, Scott Thompson, Sam Jacobs, Taylor Walker and defender Brent Reilly were recognised for superb seasons from Adelaide.

Enright has featured in the past four All Australian teams and Selwood earned a spot in the 2009 and 2010 teams. Taylor was also in the 2010 team while Lonergan and Hawkins have never previously been named.

Carlton captain Chris Judd was left out of the squad after earning selection in each of the past four years for six selections overall. Geelong's Matthew Scarlett is another to miss after earning six All Australian selections.

Cyril Rioli, Sam Mitchell, Grant Birchall and Lance Franklin were selected from the Hawks while North Melbourne’s Drew Petrie and Andrew Swallow also made the initial All-Australian squad.

Scott Pendlebury, Dayne Beams and Dane Swan were named from Collingwood while Essendon captain Jobe Watson was also selected in the squad.

Last year's captain Gary Ablett is once again the sole Gold Coast player to be nominated, while the Brisbane Lions, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs did not have any players nominated.

The All-Australian team will be named on Monday, September 17.

P Dangerfield, S Jacobs, B Reilly, S Thompson, T Walker, E Betts, D Beams, S Pendlebury, D Swan, J Watson, L McPharlin, M Pavlich, C Enright, T Hawkins, T Lonergan, J Selwood, H Taylor, G Ablett, G Birchall, L Franklin, S Mitchell, C Rioli, D Petrie, A Swallow, T Cotchin, B Deledio, I Maric, J Riewoldt, S Dempster, L Hayes, S Milne, N Riewoldt, K Jack, L Jetta, J Kennedy, T Richards, D Cox, D Glass, N Naitanui, B Waters.

The West Australian

Latest News From The West

Motorists in the US State of Arizona must have thought they had taken a wrong turn and ended up Down Under when an emu was spotted wandering along a highway on Friday afternoon.

One person has died and another suffered serious injuries in a crash around 10km east of the Pardoo Roadhouse in the Pilbara.

Popular videos

Our Picks

Follow Us

More from The West