The West

Who will win the Hayward Medal?
Sports Editor Riley Stuart's pick for the Hayward Medal: Jordan Adamson-Holmes

South West footballers will tonight descend on Bunbury’s Vat 2 restaurant for the Hayward Medal count.

The award, which recognises the league’s fairest and best player, has been voted on by umpires since 1946.

Last year, South Bunbury mid-fielder Ryan Mackenzie was a run-away winner of the medal with 29 votes—eight clear of Busselton’s BrentHall.

South West Football League general manager John Vidos said all clubs had players who could take out the gong.

‘‘It’s a gala occasion for the league andwe anticipate a close count which would be a reflection on the competition in 2012,’’ he said.

‘‘There are probably one or two key players from each club who could win.’’

Forwards could be among the high vote-winners at this season’s count with Bunbury’s Jordan Adamson- Holmes, Busselton’s Leigh Kelly and Carey Park’s Matthew Martin expected to poll well.

Even though their teams did not make the finals Augusta- Margaret River’s Jeremy Humm, classy Donnybrook on-baller Curtis Gugliemana or Harvey Bulls’ recruit Alex James could also win.

Eaton Boomer Jace Cormack, the son of 1980 Hayward medallist John Cormack, booted 48 goals in the home-and-away season and should also win plenty of votes.

Boomers’ captain Will Oelsnik is the obvious choice among defenders.

Your club's best chances:

Aug-Marg River: Jake Cassidy, Jeremy Humm, Cody Miller.
Bunbury: Jordan Adamson-Holmes, Jesse Gribble, David Butler.
Busselton: Daniel McGinlay, Leigh Kelly, Brent Hall,Tim Ioannou.
Carey Park: Scott Roche, Matthew Martin, Joel Coyne, Michael Robinson.
Collie Eagles: Jarrad Martin, Blair Malatesta, Paul Lindsay, Adam Bignell.
Donnybrook: Curtis Gugliemana, Jarrad Gugliemana, Chris Sheehan.
Eaton Boomers: Jace Cormack, Brendan Page, Will Oelsnik, Jay Davis.
Harv-Bruns-Lesch: John Klumpp, David Newman, Scott Delmenico, Lukas Teague.
Harvey Bulls: Alex James, Josh Krispyn, ChadCossom.
South Bunbury: DamonBull, Matt Giacci, Guy Piggott.

Riley Stuart selects:

Hayward Medal: Jordan Adamson-Holmes (Bunbury)
Runner-up: Brendan Page (Eaton Boomers)
Smokey: Curtis Guglielmana (Donnybrook)

Latest News From The West

Popular videos

Compare & Save

Our Picks

Follow Us

More from The West