The West

Walk honours award recipients
Walk honours award recipients

The contributions of Kalgoorlie-Boulder residents were set in stone last week at the launch of the Walk of Honour.

A permanent acknowledgment of recipients of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder’s Australia Day Awards, the Walk of Honour was unveiled at the CY O’Connor Community Precinct in Roberts Street on Saturday.

Mayor Ron Yuryevich said the city wanted to ensure the efforts of everyday citizens were immortalised.

“Mrs (Peg) McKenzie a couple of years back, she got the mayoral award I think, but she was very heavily involved in tuck shops for 40 years,” Mr Yuryevich said.

“These are the sort of people who make a difference for the community of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and this is how we want to recognise them.”

The first plaque recognising the 2003 award recipients – Wendy Carter, John Henderson and Helen O’Keefe – was unveiled on Saturday, with the remaininder of the plaques to be embedded in the walkway of the $1 million precinct this week.

Latest News From The West

New train lines and freeways, an inner-city subway and more bridges across the river — including several specifically for bikes — are part of the Barnett Government’s long-awaited transport …

The woman who escaped from David and Catherine Birnie has hit out at a government-funded, WA-made movie with a premise that echoes the story of the depraved couple who terrorised Perth in the 1980s.

Popular videos

Our Regional Picks

Compare & Save

Follow Us

More from The West Regional