The West

WA Fashion Awards nominees named
Runway Model of the Year nominee Sarah Tilleke.

The nominees for the 2012 WA Fashion Awards were announced at a gathering of the Perth fashion industry’s finest at Venn Gallery last night.

While the winners are not announced until next year, the nominees for each of the nine categories were voted for on the basis of the creative work they had undertaken during 2012.

Perth Fashion Festival director Mariella Harvey-Hanrahan said that Perth continued to “punch above its weight” in terms of the breadth and depth of talent emerging in the fields of fashion design, modelling, photography, jewellery and fashion blogging.

The awards are industry-voted and recognise the commercial and creative achievements of the 37 finalists.

While some familiar names appear in this year’s list, there are also a number of new talents being recognised for the first time. Here is the full list of nominees.

Most Innovative Designer
Ae’lkemi – designed by Alvin Fernandez
Flannel – designed by Kristy Lawrence
Garth Cook – designed by Garth Cook

Designer For Tomorrow
Tindale – designed by Shelly Tindale
Zsadar – designed by Shane Newton
Steph Audino – designed by Steph Audino
Kim Barton – designed by Kim Barton

Fine Details (accessories)
Sewellery – designed by Teagan Sewell
Wild Horses – designed by Natalie Donovan
Martini + Coz – designed by Erica Allia and Natasha Hinett

Mercedes Benz Runway Model of the Year
Gabrielle Sullivan – Chadwick
Grady Wulff – Chadwick
Frankie Ellis-Gelati – Vivien’s
Sarah Tilleke – Vivien’s
Evelyn Leckie – Scene
Jessica Moloney – Scene

Lauren Wood Photographic Model of the Year
Nicole Harrison – Chadwick
Kimberley Wainscoat – Chadwick
Steffanie Roberts – Vivien’s
Emily Green – Vivien’s
Hannah Tatum – Scene
Ayor Chuot – Scene

Hatch Hot New Model Talent
Hannah Collard – Chadwick
Grady Wulff – Chadwick
Courtney Eaton – Vivien’s
Mason Roberts – Vivien’s
Talisa Rimland – Scene
Kelsie De Bruin – Scene

Creative Edge Award
Emily Howlett – fashion stylist
Emma Bergmeier – fashion stylist
Pippa McManus – fashion illustrator

Betts Best Fashion Blogger
Bonnie Friday – Bonnie Doran
Le Fanciulle – Tricia Cheah and Stephanie van der Moezel
It’s Now Cool – Josephine Clough

Best Dressed Boutique
Zara Bryson – Claremont Quarter
Hatch – Carillon City, Perth
Varga Girl – Leederville

Winners will be announced on February 21, 2013.

The West Australian

Latest News From The West

Popular videos

Lifestyle Videos

Follow Us

More from The West