The West

Amp gets a shake-up
The Hilltop Hoods. Picture. Iain Gillespie/The West Australian.

The Australian Music Prize, or Amp, has undergone a major shake-up in an effort to find its eighth winner.

Organisers announced 26 long-listed albums yesterday, including releases from Hilltop Hoods, Alpine, DZ Deathrays, Missy Higgins, Catcall and Children Collide and plan to add more before a nine-strong shortlist for the prize is unveiled next year.

The judging panel has been pruned back to 10, including Deborah Conway, Tim Freedman, Dave Faulkner and Sam Lockwood (from last year's winners, the Jezabels), who will consider all Australian albums released during the period of eligibility.

In past years, Aussie acts have had to submit albums, but now long-listed artists will be invited to enter. Announced in March, the winner will collect the $30,000 cash prize, courtesy of Amp partners, the Phonographic Performance Company of Australia. The Drones won the inaugural prize in 2005.

Other winners include the Mess Hall, Lisa Mitchell, Cloud Control and Eddy Current Suppression Ring.

The West Australian

Popular videos

Our Picks

Follow Us

More from The West