The South Australian parliament

  • The South Australian parliament is made up of two houses. The House of Assembly, which is also called the lower house, and the Legislative Council, or the upper house.

* There are 47 lower house seats, meaning a party must control at least 24 to secure a majority.

* There are 22 upper house seats, but only half are contested at each election.

* Each government sits for a fixed term with an election held on the third Saturday in March, every four years.

* Labor has won the last four elections in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014 but had to rely on the support of independents to form government in 2002 and 2014.

* Labor currently holds 23 lower house seats, the Liberals 19 and there are five independents.

* In the upper house, Labor and the Liberals each hold eight seats, the Greens two, the Australian Conservatives two, the Dignity Party one and there is one independent.

Source: SA Parliament website.