The Sydney spots where parking fines will be slashed

Parking fines are being slashed across parts of Greater Sydney.

Eighteen local areas across NSW and five universities have signed up to a State Government program that will see fines cut by 25 per cent.

Liverpool Council, which makes nearly $4 million dollars a year from parking fines, is cutting them from $112 to $80 a ticket saying ratepayers need that money more.

“That’s 32 bottles of milk, that’s 10 loaves of bread, a couple of dozen eggs and that’s important to families that are struggling and on the breadline,” Liverpool Mayor Wendy Waller said.

Parking tickets across NSW are becoming cheaper. Source: 7News

The State Government moved to cut fines last year asking councils to opt in.

And while the move is music to the ears of Sydney motorists, many councils are refusing to join in.

There are 128 local government areas in New South Wales. So far just 18 have moved to reduce parking fines.

They include Liverpool City Council, and Blacktown and Hills Shire Councils.

Eighteen councils across NSW have introduced cheaper tickets. Source: 7News

From March first, they will cut basic parking fines by $32.

“We’re seeing Western Sydney and regional New South Wales lead the way and that’s incredibly positive, the City of Sydney Council, no they’re not following suit, that’s disappointing,” Treasurer Dominic Perottet said.

Many councils are reluctant to forego the money they make at the meter.

Drivers will also be given a 10 minute grace period from Thursday. Source: 7News

Sydney City Council raked in nearly $41 million last year in parking fines.

Inner West Council came in second with $12.5 million dollars.

Some councils, like Parramatta, say parking is at premium and they need high fines to deter overstayers.

“They make their money elsewhere as well as rates.”

“There should be adequate parking for everybody and at a price that is not over inflated.”

An additional perk for drivers starting from Thursday will see tickets purchased for more than 30 minutes receiving an extra ten minute ‘grace’ period before a ticket can be issued.

Councils slashing parking fines

1. Inverell Shire Council

2. Lachlan Shire Council

3. Liverpool City Council

4. Nambucca Shire Council

5. Wingecarribee Shire Council

6. Yass Valley Council

7. Bland Shire Council

8. Hills Shire Council

9. Muswellbrook Council

10. Blacktown City Council

11. Glen Innes Severn Council

12. Camden Council

13. Richmond Valley Council

14. Clarence Valley Council

15. Eurobodalla Shire Council

16. Cessnock City Council

17. Fairfield City Council

18. Forbes Shire Council

Universities joining cuts

1.Western Sydney

2. Charles Sturt