Statues recognise political trailblazers

·1-min read

The first two women and first Indigenous person elected to federal parliament will be honoured with statues in Canberra.

Enid Lyons - the first woman elected to the House of Representatives - and first female senator Dorothy Tangney will be cast in bronze alongside one another.

A statue of Neville Bonner, who was sworn into parliament 50 years ago, will also take its place within Canberra's National Triangle near Old Parliament House.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison said it was important to never forget who shaped Australia's history and remind future generations about history.

"Enid Lyons, Dorothy Tangney and Neville Bonner laid the path for those who have followed and they rightly deserve our recognition," he said on Tuesday.

The federal government will spend $1.25 million on the statues, which are expected to be completed next year.

The three monuments will join representations of former prime ministers including John Curtin in the parliamentary triangle.

Mrs Lyons, who also the wife of former prime minister Joseph Lyons, was the first woman to serve in Federal Cabinet.

Ms Tangney served as a WA senator from 1943 to 1968.

Mr Bonner, an elder of the Jagera people, filled a casual vacancy in the Senate before becoming the first Indigenous Australian to be elected by popular vote.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting