SIGN UP for our newsletter ✉️ :

Get the latest stories delivered straight to you

SPFL Trust Trophy: TNS hammer Arbroath to join Airdrieonians, Falkirk & Raith Rovers in semis

Adrian Cieslewicz of TNS
Adrian Cieslewicz scored for TNS against Arbroath

The New Saints stayed on course to be only the second Welsh team to reach the SPFL Trust Trophy final with a 4-1 hammering of Arbroath.

They will be joined in the semi-final draw by Airdrieonians, Falkirk and Raith Rovers.

Falkirk caused the shock of the round with a 4-2 defeat of favourites Dundee United on Friday as Rovers won 4-1 away to Hamilton Academical.

Airdrie edged hosts Greenock Morton 6-5 on penalties after a 0-0 draw.

Jay Bird opened the scoring for Scottish Championship side Arbroath after only nine minutes in Oswestry.

However, the Welsh champions hit back through Ben Clark and Brad Young to lead 2-1 at half-time.

Two goals in the last 10 minutes from Adrian Cieslewicz and Young secured a last-four place.

On Friday, Callumn Morrison put League 1 leaders Falkirk ahead against their Championship counterparts after only four minutes.

Mathew Anim Cudjoe and Tony Watt had United ahead by the break, but three goals in six second-half minutes from Tom Lang, Finn Yeats and Morrison put the home side through.

Raith were ahead against Hamilton through an early Sam Stanton goal, and Accies' hopes of a comeback suffered a blow when Lee Kilday was sent off nine minutes after the break.

Jack Hamilton scored twice to extend the lead and, although Dario Zanatta replied for the League 1 side, Dylan Easton restored the three-goal margin.