More seats declared in Queensland election

An election result in Queensland is inching closer almost two weeks after voters went to the polls, with over half of the seats now declared.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) declared 31 of the 93 seats on Thursday alone, meaning 54 seats in total have now been confirmed.

Of the seats decided Labor has won 31, the Liberal National Party has 22 and Katter's Australian Party has one seat.

LNP deputy leader Deb Frecklington was among those to get the official confirmation from the ECQ on Thursday, retaining her seat of Nanango.

Key Palaszczuk government ministers Shannon Fentiman (Waterford), Jackie Trad (South Brisbane) and Kate Jones (Cooper) were also declared as winners.

The ECQ also confirmed on Thursday that Labor had taken the Gold Coast seat of Gaven and Mount Ommaney from the LNP, while the new seat of Macalister is also in ALP hands.

For the LNP, Sam O'Connor won the new seat of Bonney on the Gold Coast while Brent Mickelberg's victory over One Nation's Queensland leader Steve Dickson in Buderim was also confirmed.

LNP incumbent Dale Last has held the key north Queensland seat of Burdekin after a tight contest with Labor's Michael Brunker.

The Electoral Commissioner declared the following 31 seats on Thursday:

* Bonney: Sam O'Connor (LNP)

* Buderim: Brent Mickelberg (LNP)

* Burdekin: Dale Last (LNP)

* Cook: Cynthia Lui (ALP)

* Cooper: Kate Jones (ALP)

* Coomera: Michael Crandon (LNP)

* Currumbin: Jann Stuckey (LNP)

* Gaven: Meaghan Scanlon (ALP)

* Ipswich: Jennifer Howard (ALP)

* Ipswich West: Jim Madden (ALP)

* Jordon: Charis Mullen (ALP)

* Keppel: Brittany Lauga (ALP)

* Kurwongbah: Shane King (ALP)

* Lockyer: Jim McDonald (LNP)

* Macalister: Melissa McMahon (ALP)

* Mackay: Julieanne Gilbert (ALP)

* Mansfield: Corrine McMillan (ALP)

* Maryborough: Bruce Saunders (ALP)

* Miller: Mark Bailey (ALP)

* Moggill: Christian Rowan (LNP)

* Mount Ommaney: Jess Pugh (ALP)

* Mudgeeraba: Ros Bates (LNP)

* Nanango: Deb Frecklington (LNP)

* Ninderry: Dan Purdie (LNP)

* Springwood: Mick de Brenni (ALP)

* South Brisbane: Jackie Trad (ALP)

* Southport: Robert Molhoek (LNP)

* Theodore: Mark Boothman (LNP)

* Toohey: Peter Russo (ALP)

* Warrego: Ann Leahy (LNP)

* Waterford: Shannon Fentiman (ALP)

Back To Top