Post Office scandal victim to receive honour

An older man wearing a blue and white checked jumper and a brown coat. He is facing the camera mid sentence with both his thumbs up.
Noel Thomas was locked up for false accounting in 2006 after his books fell short by £48,000 [PA Media]

Former sub-postmaster Noel Thomas will be honoured for his role in campaigning for justice against the Post Office.

He will be awarded an honorary degree by Bangor University on Tuesday for his public service in raising awareness of the Horizon scandal.

Hundreds of people were convicted after faulty Horizon software flagged false discrepancies in accounts.

An ongoing public inquiry has been looking at how the court cases were brought against sub-postmasters.

An older man wearing a suit with a lilac shirt and a blue and yellow tie
Alan Bates' fight for justice inspired ITV’s drama Mr Bates vs The Post Office [PA Media ]

Mr Thomas, from Gaerwen, Anglesey, was wrongly convicted of false accounting after the Horizon computer system failed.

He campaigned alongside others to clear the names of Post Office sub-postmasters who faced criminal convictions.

He successfully appealed his conviction and has since gone on to tell his story as he "wanted others who had suffered to come forward and secure justice".

Alan Bates, from Llandudno, will also be recognised for this role in the campaign later this week.

He spent two decades of his life advocating for justice and clearing the names of Post Office managers who were affected.

He founded the Justice for Sub-postmasters Alliance (JSFA) in 2009.

The group played a leading role in the legal battle to seek justice for those whose lives were adversely affected and to ensure compensation for those wrongly accused.

In 2017, a group of 555 sub-postmasters took legal action against the Post Office, with it agreeing to pay them £58m in compensation in 2019.

Their stories were inspired and the subject of a series by ITV, 'Alan Bates vs the Post Office', which was watched by millions of viewers.

The other recipients of this year’s honorary degrees include Manon Steffan Ros and Dr Susan Chomba.