In pictures: SNP cabinets down the years


The new cabinet announced by John Swinney is the eighth since the SNP came to power in 2007.

Here are the different line-ups from the last 17 years.

2007 - Alex Salmond's first cabinet

2011 - Bigger team after election win

2014 - The Nicola Sturgeon era begins

2016 - Another SNP win, another Sturgeon cabinet

2018 - A gender balanced team

2021 - Sturgeon's line-up after election win

2023 - Humza Yousaf's majority women cabinet

Humza Yousaf's cabinet was the first since the SNP came to power which did not include Nicola Sturgeon and John Swinney [PA Media]

2024 - John Swinney's cabinet

Kate Forbes was appointed deputy forst miniser in John Swinney's cabinet [Reuters]

All pictures copyrighted