NSW issues strict new border rules amid Covid lockdown

·2-min read

NSW has introduced new border restrictions to three other parts of Australia, as it grapples with its own Covid-19 outbreaks.

From 12.01am on Wednesday, June 30, anyone travelling to NSW who has been in the Northern Territory, Queensland or Western Australia must complete a declaration form.

The existing declaration requirements put in place for those who have been in Victoria in the past 14 days also remain in place.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian speaks at a Covid-19 media update in Sydney, on Tuesday.
Anyone travelling to NSW from the Northern Territory, Queensland or Western Australia now has to fill out a border declaration form. Source: AAP

"NSW Health advises against non-essential travel to lockdown areas in other states and territories at this time,' NSW Health said in a media release.

"Do not travel to NSW if you have attended a venue of concern as close contacts must isolate immediately, get tested and remain in isolation for 14 days, and contact the relevant health authorities in their state or territory."

Anyone who is subject to stay-at-home orders in the Northern Territory, Queensland, and Western Australia should not be travelling to NSW unless they are permitted to by those state or territory’s public health orders.

If people are permitted to travel to NSW after midnight on Wednesday and have been in an area subject to a lockdown, they must follow stay-at-home orders in place in NSW for 14 days after being in those areas.

"This means people will only be permitted to leave their place of residence for limited reasons, including shopping for essential items, medical care, caregiving, outdoor exercise, and work or education, if you cannot do it from home," NSW Health said.

"You will also be required to comply with all other public health orders in NSW."

The declaration form can be found on the Service NSW website and it can be completed in the 24 hours leading up to entering the state.

Pedestrians wearing protective masks walk across a road during a lockdown.
Non-essential travel to other states or territories is not advised for people in NSW. Source: Bloomberg via Getty Images

Lockdown have been enforced in parts of the Northern territory, Western Australia and Queensland due to Covid-19 outbreaks.

On Tuesday, Australia recorded a total of 23 locally-acquired cases, 19 in NSW, two in Queensland and two in the Northern Territory.

Do you have a story tip? Email: newsroomau@yahoonews.com

You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter and download the Yahoo News app from the App Store or Google Play.