Lincolnshire constituency changes guide

Polling station sign at village location
The boundaries have be redrawn to try to even out voter numbers in each area [Getty Images]

Voters in Lincolnshire might find themselves in a different constituency on polling day on 4 July.

Since the last election, there has been a review and redrawing of parliamentary constituencies.

The Boundary Commission for England made the amendments to try to make constituencies roughly equally-sized in terms of the number of voters living in them. The full list of candidates for each constituency has not yet been published.

Here are the changes:

Great Grimsby and Cleethorpes

The two towns are almost entirely in one constituency.

The existing Great Grimsby constituency is adding Croft Baker, Haverstoe and Sidney Sussex wards to it, and losing Scartho.

Wards included: Croft Baker, East Marsh, Freshney, Haverstoe, Heneage, Park, Sidney Sussex, South, West Marsh, Yarborough.

Scunthorpe County

The constituency of Scunthorpe in the North Lincolnshire Council area has expanded to encompass rural areas to the north and west.

Burringham and Gunness, and Burton upon Stather and Winterton are the new ward additions.

Its expansion was because the previous constituency had too small an electorate.

Wards included: Ashby Central, Ashby Lakeside, Bottesford, Brumby, Burringham and Gunness, Burton upon Stather and Winterton, Crosby and Park, Frodingham, Kingsway with Lincoln Gardens, Messingham, Ridge, Town.

Brigg and Immingham

This new constituency straddles North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire Council areas. It is where Scartho Ward has ended up.

Wards included: North Lincs – Barton, Brigg and Wolds, Broughton and Scawby, Ferry. North East Lincolnshire – Humberston and New Waltham, Immingham, Scartho, Waltham, Wolds.

Doncaster East and the Isle of Axholme

This replaces the constituency of Brigg and Goole. Its northern Lincolnshire inhabitants have been swallowed up either in Brigg and Immingham, or this new constituency, which combines North Lincolnshire and part of South Yorkshire.

Wards included: North Lincolnshire – Axholme Central, Axholme North, Axholme South. City of Doncaster – Finningley, Hatfield, Rossington and Bawtry, Thorne and Moorends.

Grantham and Bourne

Formerly Grantham and Stamford, this constituency will now be split into two separate areas, with a new boundary line between the two towns. Grantham will now incorporate the Bourne area and sections north of Grantham.

The new constituency will keep places such as Pointon and Harlaxton, but also gain areas including Fulbeck, Ancaster and Heckington.

Stamford and Rutland

The former seat of Rutland and Melton is losing Melton and replacing it with Stamford.

The new boundary stretches south of Stamford and covers the Oakham and Uppingham areas, up to the edge of Leicester.

Areas such as Great Ponton, Grimsthorpe and Castle Bytham will form part of the new constituency, having previously been a part of Grantham and Stamford.

Remaining constituencies

Lincoln, Sleaford and North Hykeham, Gainsborough, Boston and Skegness, Louth and Horncastle and South Holland and The Deepings will remain for the 2024 election, but some have had minor changes to their boundaries.

Follow BBC Lincolnshire on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), and Instagram. Send your story ideas to

More on this story