New image exposes bowler's dodgy act during Mankad dismissal

Ravi Aswhin’s controversial Mankad in the IPL has caused widespread debate.

Some say it’s against the spirit of the game, while others say it’s perfectly legal under ICC laws.

But is that actually the case?

A 2017 update to law 41.16 reads: “If the non-striker is out of his/her ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out.”

Ashwin appeared to wait until Butler left his crease. Image: IPL

The important part in this case being “would normally have been expected to release the ball.”

In this case, Buttler was still in his crease when Ashwin arrived to deliver the ball, only for the bowler to pull out of his action and wait for him to step forward before whipping off the bails.

Many fans and former players have pointed out that Ashwin actually affected the run out well after he would normally be expected to release the ball, and one social media user has proof.

An image of Ashwin delivering the ball in a previous match was superimposed over the top of an image of the Indian bowler at the exact same time as he would have been expected to release the ball on Tuesday.


As you can see, Butler was still in his crease and it wasn’t until moments later that Ashwin whipped the bails off.

MCC’s verdict

The MCC – the game’s lawmakers – have since weighed in, somewhat supporting this theory.

In a statement the MCC have sought to clarify law 41.16: Non-striker leaving his/her ground early in relation to the Buttler controversy.

It said: “This law is essential. Without it, non-strikers could back up at liberty, several yards down the pitch and a law is needed to prevent such action.

“The crux of the issue is when the non-striker can safely leave his/her ground, and what the bowler can do to effect this form of dismissal without courting controversy.

“To clarify, it has never been in the laws that a warning should be given to the non-striker and nor is it against the spirit of cricket to run out a non-striker who is seeking to gain an advantage by leaving his/her ground early.

Is this the point that Ashwin would have released the ball? Image: IPL

“Some feel that Ashwin delayed his action to allow Buttler the chance to leave his ground and that Buttler was in his ground when he expected the ball to be released.

“If it was a deliberate delay, that would be unfair and against the spirit of cricket. Ashwin claims this not to be the case.

“The TV umpire had to make a decision and, under the law, it was understandable how he opted to give Buttler out.”

Shane Warne led the criticism of Ashwin’s use of the ‘Mankad’, named after Vinoo Mankad who ran out Australia’s Bill Brown during India’s 1947-48 tour.