LPGA loses Texas stop after 11-year run

After 11 years, the LPGA’s annual stop in Texas has dropped off the schedule for 2024. Hyo Joo Kim won this year’s Ascendant LPGA benefitting Volunteers of America by four strokes.

The tournament debuted as the North Texas LPGA Shootout at Los Colinas in 2013 and was won by LPGA Hall of Famer Inbee Park, who repeated in 2015. The event was renamed the Volunteers of America North Texas Shootout in 2015. It moved to the Old American Golf Club in The Colony in 2018.

Three players who call Texas home have won the event: Stacy Lewis (2014), Cheyenne Knight (2019, pictured above) and Angela Stanford (2020).

“Outlyr and the LPGA tour remain committed to the Dallas market long term and will continue the search for a long-term partner to bring the event back to The Colony,” said tournament organizers in a statement. “We are thankful to Golf Clubs at The Tribute and The Colony for their tremendous support over the last six years.

“Volunteers of America has been a longtime partner of the LPGA Tour and will continue to support the LPGA Tour as they are re-allocating their resources in 2024. We thank Cypress Ascendant for their support over the last two years.”

Story originally appeared on GolfWeek