Last seat finalises new-look parliament

·1-min read

The results of the federal election have been made official, with all 151 lower house seats being declared.

The Western Australian seat of O'Connor, won by Liberal Rick Wilson, was the last electorate to be declared by the Australian Electoral Commission.

The declaration on Wednesday confirmed the new Labor government will have 77 seats in the 47th parliament, the coalition will have 58 and the Greens four. There will be 12 seats shared among minor parties and independents.

In the Senate, the government will have 26 seats and the opposition 32, with Greens senators numbering 12 and two seats each for the Jacqui Lambie Network and One Nation.

The remaining two seats have been declared for the United Australia Party and independent David Pocock.

With the results confirmed by the commission, the final two-party preferred vote was Labor on 52.13 per cent, compared to the coalition's 47.87 per cent.

The final figure represented a 3.66 per cent swing to Labor at the May election.

Federal parliament will have 47 new members, with 35 in the House of Representatives and 12 in the Senate.

Newly elected members of the lower house will travel to Canberra next week for an induction ahead of parliament resuming next month.

The proposed calendar for the rest of the year shows eight sitting weeks in the second half of 2022.

The schedule also includes a federal budget, slated to be handed down on October 25.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting