Facebook will soon roll out a feature on its Messenger service users have long been calling for.
Users of the popular messaging site and app will be given the opportunity to delete a message after it has been sent.
Yet users will need to be quick as Facebook are giving those wanting to retrieve their messages just 10 minutes to do so.
This length of time is relatively short in comparison to other messaging platforms, including the one day time limit for Facebook-owned Instagram and one hour for Whatsapp – also owned by the social media giant.
While the update wasn’t publicly announced, digital media expert Matt Navarra discovered Facebook’s plans far down in the release notes for version 191.0 of Messenger’s iOS client.
He took to Twitter on Wednesday to share a screenshot of the proposed plan.
“If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within 10 minutes of sending it,” the update read.
The idea has been lobbied by Facebook since April after it was revealed the company had retracted messages sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg and other company chief, TechRadar reported.
Facebook have given no indication when this update will be rolled out, with the release notes simply saying: “Coming soon”.