European countries expel Russian diplomats

·1-min read

Germany, Poland and Sweden have expelled members of the Russian embassies in their countries in a tit-for-tat response to the expulsion of their diplomats in Russia last week.

The Russian diplomat in Berlin was declared persona non grata, according to the German Foreign Ministry, meaning they had to leave.

Poland's Foreign Ministry said on Twitter on Monday that it had expelled a Russian diplomat in response to the recent "unjustified expulsion" of a Polish diplomat in Russia.

Swedish Foreign Minister Ann Linde said a person from the county's Russian embassy was asked to leave Sweden.

"This is a clear response to the unacceptable decision to expel a Swedish diplomat who was only preforming his duties," she said on Twitter.

The moves come after Russia expelled German, Polish and Swedish diplomats who it alleged attended a protest in support of jailed dissident Alexei Navalny.