Award named after slain Qld bus driver

Alexandra Patrikios

An industry award for Queensland's best bus driver has been renamed in honour of slain Brisbane driver Manmeet Sharma.

Mr Sharma, who also went by Manmeet Alisher, died after an incendiary device was thrown at him in October when he stopped to pick up passengers in Moorooka.

The Queensland Bus Industry Council will on Thursday present the inaugural Manmeet Sharma Perpetual Driver of the Year Award to the driver deemed the state's best for 2016.

Safe driving skills and loyalty to their employer are attributes recognised by the award, which has been endorsed by Mr Sharma's family and former employer, the Brisbane City Council.

The award is set to be handed out at the Brisbane Bus Lines Depot at Enoggera at 11am.