Adelaide mayor back for a second stint

Adelaide's new lord mayor, Jane Lomax-Smith, has been sworn in, along with the city's new council.

Ms Lomax-Smith was elected this month, narrowly beating former independent SA senator Rex Patrick in a vote decided on preferences.

She returns to the role she held from 1997 to 2000, after also serving as a minister in the state Labor government from 2002 to 2010.

Ms Lomax-Smith said the new council reflected the diversity of the community and was committed to working collaboratively.

"I am confident that the new council will embrace the opportunity we have to reset, move ahead and help the City of Adelaide reach its full potential," she said.

"We want to play our part in ensuring the city performs well not only for our electors, but for the whole state."

The new council includes returning members Arman Abrahimzadeh, Mary Couros, Simon Hou, Phil Martin and Keiran Snape.

They have been joined by new councillors Janet Giles, Henry Davis, David Elliott, Jing Li, Carmel Noon and Mark Siebentritt.